3349 Southgate Court Southwest #108
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404
(319) 362-6824


Rail Passenger Group Leaders Re-elected

(Des Moines, Iowa)-Richard F. "Dick" Welch, of North Liberty, was re-elected President at the group's annual meeting on Saturday. Welch is affiliated with the R. F. Welch Company of Cedar Rapids. George F. Davison, Jr., of Des Moines, was re-elected as Vice President of the group. Davison is a lawyer with the law firm of Hawkins & Norris in Des Moines. Davison is also General Counsel of the organization.

Dr. Michael Sellz of Iowa City was re-elected Secretary. Mary Buczek of Davenport was re-elected Treasurer. Buczek is affiliated with Iowa-Illinois Thermal Insulation in Davenport.

John M. Ely, Jr., of Cedar Rapids, was re-elected to the Board of Directors for a three-year term.

Cathy Johnson of Iowa City and Roland M. Lynch of Council Bluffs, continue as Directors of the group, since their positions were not up for re-election this year. Johnson continues in her position as Membership Chair of the group. In addition to the election of officers, the group heard from State Representative Frank Chiodo of Des Moines about how the Iowa Legislature works and what it's like to be a lawmaker. The meeting also included a discussion about the long-range plan being developed by the Iowa Department of Transportation known as "Iowa in Motion." The Iowa Association of Railroad Passengers is a statewide, non-profit citizens' organization advocating passenger rail transportation. It was formed in 1981 to strengthen the voice of the rail user in Iowa. The organization is affiliated with the National Association of Railroad Passengers in Washington, D.C.

Membership information is available by writing to:
Iowa Association of Railroad Passengers
3349 Southgate Court, SW, Suite #108
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404-5424

or by calling (319) 362-6824.